

U3A-ACT Inc Hughes Community Centre 2 Wisdom Street HUGHES ACT 2605 www.u3acanberra.org.au

ABN: 35 234 986 878 19 November 2024

U3A-ACT INCORPORATED MINUTES OF THE 2023 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING WEDNESDAY 15 NOVEMBER 2023 Hughes Community Centre, Hughes

The meeting commenced at 2.03 pm.

1. Opening and Welcome from the President

The President, Lindsay Rae, welcomed members and thanked them for attending.

2. Confirmation of Quorum

A quorum was confirmed with 124 attending (19 virtually)

3. Apologies were received from:

- Christine King
- Janette Weedon
- Peter Bazeos (10 yr Long Service Awardee)
- Michael Poole (10 yr Long Service Awardee)
- John Warhurst (Paul Minogue Attending to accept Award)
- Pat Kneebone (10 yr Long Service Awardee)
- David Middleton
- Suzanne Sherwood
- David Marshall
- Pamela McKittrich.

No proxy notices were received.

The lists of members attending and apologies from members who were unable to attend will be placed on file and will be available from: secretary@u3acanberra.org.au

4. Minutes of 2022 Annual General Meeting held on 16 November 2022

Minutes of the 2022 AGM were tabled at the meeting. There were no changes to these minutes. Sherrill Bell moved they be accepted. The motion was seconded by Anne Franklin. The motion was carried by show of hands.

5. President's Report on behalf of the Committee under Rule 31(2)(b)

The President spoke briefly to his written report. He noted 2023 had been a year of recovery for U3A-ACT Inc (U3A ACT). It had experienced some 20-25% reduction in membership over the past three years as a result of COVID. However, that decline now seems to be coming to an end. Despite this, other changes are impacting on membership, especially new patterns of work, with many people continuing in some form of employment into their 70s. U3A ACT is currently the largest U3A in Australia in terms of membership. Its future size will depend on its ability to attract younger people. One encouraging sign was that course numbers have been increasing again, although they have not yet reached the level achieved in 2019.

The President thanked all those who have contributed to U3A ACT's success in 2023, including volunteers, course leaders and team members, and thanked two departing committee members, Rosa Grazewska and David Marshall.

In responding to a question, he noted the current membership is around 4,200, while observing the actual number fluctuates during the year.

6. Audited Statement of Accounts and Auditor's Report Under Rule 31(2)(d)

The audited financial statements for the year ended 31 August 2023 were tabled, and considered at the meeting.

The Treasurer, Graeme Swift, spoke to the Audited Statement of Accounts and the Auditor's report. In particular, the Treasurer noted that the financial year resulted in a net surplus of \$35,642. This surplus was due in part to increased efficiencies in operations, and the ability to increase revenue from term deposits.

The Treasurer also reported that a new financial package, MYOB, and a new financial management system had been introduced during the year. He thanked all the members of the Finance Team, and noted that a new Assistant Treasurer had recently been appointed.

The Treasurer proposed the accounts be accepted, and this seconded by Simone Clark and passed by a show of hands.

7. Appointment of Auditor Under Rule 31(2)(e)

The Treasurer proposed that Mr Bryce Gorrell of GLR Accountants be appointed as auditor for U3A-ACT Inc for the 2023-24 financial year.

The motion was seconded by Anne Franklin and passed by a show of hands.

8. Statutory Report from the Committee Under Rule 31(2) (d)

The statutory report for the period 16 November 2022 was tabled. Its acceptance was moved by Rosa Grazewska and seconded by Keith Huggan. The motion was passed by a show of hands.

9. Election of Office Holders and Ordinary Committee Members under Rule 18

Nominations for Office Bearers and Ordinary Committee Member positions had been received by the due date. These included one nomination for each of the five office holder positions, and seven nominations for the eight Ordinary Members. These nominees were duly elected. A nomination for the unfilled ordinary member position was received from Kristine Riethmiller. As no further nominations were received, she was duly elected.

The composition of the incoming Committee (2023-24) is shown below.

President	Lindsay Rae
Vice-president	Alex Gosman
Vice-president	Simone Clark
Treasurer	Graeme Swift
Secretary	Thomas Flynn
Ordinary Members	Gary Davis
	Andrea Hope
	Christine King
	Paul Minogue
	Bob Nield
	Cissy Parker
	Kristine Riethmiller
	Peter Sheldrake

Out-going members were Rosa Grazewska and David Marshall.

10. Presentation of Outstanding Service Awards and Volunteer Long Service Recognition Awards

The President presented Outstanding Service Awards to:

Sherill Bell	Ross Howard
Rhonda Jolly	Dorothy Zenz

The President also announced the Volunteer Long Service Recognition Awards as listed below:

Ten Year Long Service Awards:

Peter Bazeos	John Bury
Peter Crawford	Judy Johnson
Pat Kneebone	Mary Matis
Michael Poole	John Warhurst

2 Fifteen Year Long Service Awards:

Pauline Bryant	Tric White

11. Close

The President was thanked from the floor by acclamation. There being no further business, the meeting closed at 2.47 pm.

Signed as agreed by members.

Lindsay Rae President, U3A-ACT Inc 19 November 2024